Judge delays ruling on Cosby's motion to dimiss defamation case

LOS ANGELES -- A judge on Monday delayed ruling on Bill Cosby's motion to dismiss a defamation case filed by model Janice Dickinson over her allegations that the comedian drugged and raped her in 1982.

See Full Article

Dickinson sued Cosby in May over his denial of her claims. She says his former attorney wrote letters to news outlets denying her allegations and implying the organizations could be sued if they used the claims in stories.

Dickinson also says she tried to include the account in a 2002 memoir, but her publisher refused.

On Monday, Los Angeles County Superior Court Judge Debre Katz Weintraub delayed a ruling until March 29 and ordered attorneys to file new briefs on whether the denial by Cosby's former lawyer constituted a legal communication about possible litigation.

The letter was sent to Entertainment Tonight, Buzzfeed and other news organizations.

Cosby's attorneys assert that Dickinson has told differing accounts of her interactions with the comedian over the years and she cannot prove that their statements branding her a liar are false.

They also have raised the possibility that the denial from Cosby's attorney is legally protected and cannot be used in a defamation case.

Dickinson's lawsuit says Cosby's denial of her allegations caused her to feel re-victimized.


Latest Entertainment News

  • Canadian comedian reads WikiLeaks' Assange the news

    Entertainment CTV News
    Julian Assange may be without internet access but a Canadian comedian Bobby Mair stepped in to make sure the WikiLeaks founder didn’t miss too much. Mair, who is from Seaforth, Ont. but is now living in London, U.K. Source
  • Kanye West laments that his kids haven't played with Jay Z's daughter

    Entertainment CTV News
    SEATTLE -- Kanye West is lamenting that his kids have yet to play with the daughter of his friend, mentor and collaborator Jay Z. Fan video from West's show in Seattle on Wednesday night shows the rapper complaining about business disputes with Jay Z before telling the crowd: "Our kids ain't never even played together. Source
  • 'Ouija: Origin of Evil' review: Horror prequel a cheeseball disaster

    Entertainment Toronto Sun
    Ouija: Origin of Evil is sadly derivative, totally stupid, routinely cheeseball and ultimately disappointing. Exactly as I expected this horror prequel to be, given that it is a third-rate rip-off of William Friedkin’s 1973 classic, The Exorcist. Source
  • 'Mean Dreams' review: Josh Wiggins impresses in crime thriller

    Entertainment Toronto Sun
    Mean Dreams is a coming-of-age drama that evolves into a crime thriller. There’s too much going on here, and the story eventually falls apart under its own weight, but there’s still a lot to like about this engaging film. Source
  • 'Nasty woman' remark boosts 1986 Janet Jackson hit

    Entertainment CTV News
    RECAP: Clinton, Trump in final presidential debate 'Nasty women' and 'bad hombres': Debate moments that made the internet cringe Source
  • Jay Z, Madonna, Bryan Adams nominated for Songwriters Hall of Fame

    Entertainment CBC News
    Jay Z, one of contemporary music's most celebrated lyricists and entertainers, is one of the nominees for the 2017 Songwriters Hall of Fame, and if inducted he would become the first rapper to enter the prestigious music organization. Source
  • 'Jack Reacher: Never Go Back' review: Tom Cruise adventure a fist full of fun [Video]

    Entertainment Toronto Sun
    Up for some brainless fun? Fans of Tom Cruise or Jack Reacher — or both — will find plenty to like in Jack Reacher: Never Go Back, another do-or-die adventure for the iconic action hero created by bestselling author Lee Child. Source
  • 'American Pastoral' review: Ewan McGregor's take on Philip Roth novel a lost cause

    Entertainment Toronto Sun
    It’s been nearly a half-century since a decent movie, Goodbye Columbus, was made from a Philip Roth novel. That’s not to say there will never be another. But you’ve got to admire Ewan McGregor’s chutzpah for thinking he could break the streak with his directorial debut – one where he completely miscasts himself as a Jewish New Jersey glove-maker no less. Source
  • 'Scalper bots' to be outlawed in Ontario

    Entertainment CTV News
    TORONTO - Ontario plans to introduce legislation next spring to outlaw computer "scalper bots" that scoop up huge blocks of tickets to concerts and major sporting events, forcing many customers to the more expensive resale market. Source
  • Jim Carrey 'on brink of despair' after wrongful death lawsuit: report

    Entertainment Toronto Sun
    After Jim Carrey was slapped with a second lawsuit over his girlfriend Cathriona White ‘s suicide last year, his closest friends fear the actor will kill himself. As Radar readers know, Carrey has been accused of giving White sexually transmitted diseases, and hiring private investigators to hound her family. Source